Connect with us

Chicago Cubs

Another Gold Glove for Chicago Cubs’ Rizzo

Chicago Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo won his second career National League Gold Glove Award on Sunday night. He was a co-winner at the position, joining Atlanta’s Freddie Freeman.

The Cubs have had a Gold Glove Award winner in each of the last three seasons, as right fielder Jason Heyward was a winner in 2016 and 2017. Rizzo won the Award for the first time in 2016, when he also was the Platinum Glove Award winner for the entire National League.

The Cubs have won a Gold Glove in three consecutive seasons for the first time since a four-year run from 2004-07 (pitcher Greg Maddux from 2004-06 and first baseman Derrek Lee in 2005 and 2007).

Rizzo remains only the third first baseman in franchise history to earn this award, and all three Cubs have won multiple Gold Gloves. Rizzo joins four-time winner Mark Grace (1992, 1993, 1995, 1996) and Lee, a two-time winner.

Heyward and second baseman Javier Baez were finalists at their respective positions in 2018.

Mookie Betts and the Boston Red Sox just keep winning.

Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Red Sox, and the Atlanta Braves also were recognized for their fielding excellence this season. White Sox outfielder Adam Engel was a finalist.

The 26-year-old Betts won for the third straight year. He also is a top contender for the AL MVP award.

Kinsler got his second Gold Glove at second base, and Bradley won for the first time in center. Teammate Andrew Benintendi also was nominated, but Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon took home his sixth Gold Glove instead.

Atlanta added three Gold Gloves to its surprise NL East title this season. Along with Freeman, center fielder Ender Inciarte and right fielder Nick Markakis were honored.

It’s the third straight Gold Glove for Inciarte. Markakis won for the first time in the NL and third time overall, ending Jason Heyward’s run of four in a row.

Oakland, Colorado and Arizona each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield.

First baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman were recognized for the Athletics, and second baseman D.J. LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenado won for the Rockies. Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke got his fifth consecutive Gold Glove award, and teammate Nick Ahmed won for the first time at shortstop.

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina took home his ninth Gold Glove, but his first since 2015. It was a similar situation at catcher in the AL, with Salvador Perez winning for Kansas City for the fifth time after he was unseated by Martin Maldonado last year.

Pittsburgh left fielder Corey Dickerson rounds out the NL winners. Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons also won in the AL.


Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Chicago Cubs